Sam Dylan Finch 🍓 @samdylanfinch Editor, Mental Health & Chronic Conditions @healthline. ♿️🌿 Astrology columnist @Greatist. ✨ Blogger, gay nerd, friend. 🌈 He/him. Apr. 12, 2019 3 min read

Hello, I'm a journalist. Since whoever is behind @Openly clearly isn't, let me explain a few things to you.

Opinion pieces still need to have journalistic integrity in order to be considered an "impartial news platform."

But this entire opinion piece hinges on research that the author herself admits is completely biased to paint transgender women as sexual predators.

Direct quote:

This is not research. This is an online survey that fronts, at a glance, as being representative of lesbians more broadly when, in reality, it was 80 women in the author's own personal network, scapegoating trans women as the source of harassment they faced online.

Sending out a questionaire to women who identify as TERFs to prove there is a sweeping phenomenon of transgender women advocating for sexual violence against "lesbians" is not in any way scientific.

It's not a credible source. it hasn't even been vetted. It's self-published.

So what we have is a self-published survey of TERFs slinging accusations against transgender women. And that survey is used to then write an ""opinion piece"" about lesbians, as a whole, being targeted for sexual violence.

That is NOT OPINION. That is NOT IMPARTIAL.

So, @Openly, let's review your excuse for publishing this, yeah? Because no legitimate journalistic platform would publish something this entrenched in bias that lacks any credible sources, and speaks of its singular source in a way that is simply untruthful.

This wasn't research with "findings." This was violent rhetoric masquerading as research.

I can send out a google form to everyone on a particular forum to "prove" any point I'd like. That doesn't make it research. That doesn't make it credible.