Dr Benjamin Janaway @drjanaway Psychiatrist, Writer and Science Communicator. Working on a novel. Widely published. Media enquiries via DM. RTs usually endorsements. Future Silver Fox. Jun. 11, 2019 3 min read

Realtalk social media thread:

Social media polarises us to good and bad, and makes us profile ourselves as happy when we are not.

This makes people feel bad, when they cant reach these illusions.

So lets try being real, people are not just their profiles.

Ill start

1) I am a successful doctor, but have struggled with depression and anxiety. Getting to where I am has been exhausting, but I am not defined by it or the illness. But sometimes I fear the illness could end all of it.

2) I am wrong about things, all the time. You can only be so informed about so much. I have a habit of trying to learn too much, which means I could make mistakes. I am very strict with myself on being reliable, which means underestimating myself.

3) I get alot of attention from colleagues who see me as very senior, but I realise that my calm exterior is a trained coping mechanism, developed through dealing with trauma at work and outside. Doesn't mean I don't feel it later. It can really sting.

4) I am 30 and live alone. This is not because I am a bad person or always at work (although this is part of it.) It is because i prioritise work over finding someone to be with, because the latter still scares me. It has gotten worse since I became a doctor and seen hard things.

5) I gym alot because it helps me destress. Part of it is a little for the ego, as it lets me feel more in control and moving forward. The rest is because it helps settle my mind. It amazes me how much it helps.

6) For everything I have achieved there is an element of antecedent privilege and loss. I am lucky to be where I am, but I have lost people along the way. These were my choices too. I still find ways not to blame myself.