Teri Kanefield @Teri_Kanefield Author, lawyer (U.C. Berkeley). My threads are here: terikanefield-blog.com/ My author website is here: www.terikanefield.com/ Jun. 15, 2019 2 min read

1/ People keep asking me about the June 13 thread by @ECMcLaughlin

I worked all week for @RAICESTEXAS. Nobody I worked with at Raices heard of anything out of the ordinary all week.

I did challenge the accuracy of one of @ECMcLaughlin legal claims . . .

2/ . . . and she blocked me.

It is, of course, entirely possible that something new and shocking and horrifying was happening in Texas, and the staff I worked with at Raices didn't know about it.

I'd like to tell you all a fact that you might not know, and won't like.

3/ The policy of detaining in prisons asylum seekers started under Obama.

The clip below is from the Raices training manual I studied to prepare for my work this past week. I grabbed it to verify what I'm telling you.

There is no doubt that the Trump administration . . .

4/ . . .took steps that are cruel, including the inhumane policy of separating families.

I tell you about Obama because we need to keep all facts in mind, not just the ones that confirm our own biases and beliefs.

Now, I'm going to speak as a criminal defense appellate lawyer:

5/ Any time you entrust mere mortals with the task of being prison wardens, bad things are going to happen. Bad things happen in prisons, and always have.

This is why families should not be detained in prisons, or people imprisoned without due process.

One warning:

6/ Good investigative reporting is essential to independently verify facts and photographs.

A cynical warning: Certain kinds of tweets will get lots of "likes" and retweets, and there's a natural tendency to want to be popular on Twitter.

Each time I met with a new client. . .

7/ . . in the detention center, I asked if they had any complaints about how they had been treated since entering the U.S.