Khanoisseur 🐶🤦🏻‍♂️🌎 @Khanoisseur Nonpartisan fact-checks + analysis of news (+ 🐶 pics). *Turn notifications on* (Podcast coming). Stuff for @Google @Twitter @Uber @Facebook @Tesla Jul. 26, 2019 1 min read

Important context: Israel, Iran, India, Pakistan and South Sudan have not signed the Nuclear Nonproliferation Treaty (NPT), and so they freely develop nuclear weapons. North Korea withdrew from NPT in 2003 (after ‘Axis of Evil’ inclusion). Iran signed NPT in 1970.

2. So just like Israel, India, Pakistan and South Sudan, North Korea is free to develop nuclear weapons. But pundits often fail to mention this fact, which leads many people to believe that North Korea is violating some major treaty and must be punished.

3. NPT is by some as a conspiracy of the nuclear 'haves' to keep the nuclear 'have-nots' in their place. This argument has roots in Article VI of the treaty which obligates the nuclear weapons states to liquidate their ☢️ stockpiles and pursue disarmament, which isn’t happening.

4. Some countries such as India have criticized the NPT, because it "discriminated against states not possessing nuclear weapons on January 1, 1967," while Iran and numerous Arab states have criticized Israel for not signing the NPT and not facing similar sanctions.

You can follow @Khanoisseur.


Tip: mention @threader_app on a Twitter thread with the keyword “compile” to get a link to it.

Enjoy Threader? Sign up.

Threader is an independent project created by only two developers. The site gets 500,000+ visits a month and our iOS Twitter client was featured as an App of the Day by Apple. Running this space is expensive and time consuming. If you find Threader useful, please consider supporting us to make it a sustainable project.