Jennifer Gunter @DrJenGunter OB/GYN, appropriately confident, lasso of truth, Canadian Spice, I speak for no one but me. The Vagina Bible (bestseller! OMG). Jensplaining, NYT contributor. Sep. 15, 2019 2 min read

$600 for my son who lived about 3 minutes. He received no medical care. At all. As he died almost immediately he didn’t get enrolled in my insurance plan, so I got the bill. From the hospital where I was a doctor.

It was from my own department too. Ha! You asked for absurd.

When I got home this $600 bill came for Aidan. It was addressed to “Parent of Aidan XXX”...and for a second I thought his death was a dream and I got very hopeful he was alive and then confused.

And then very sad.

And then I called the billing department and literally had to argue with them about my son being dead and they didn’t believe me that I let him die without medical care. I am literally explaining how some babies are born to die. They say, “Too bad.”

So I wrote a very threatening e-mail to the hospital CEO and told him I would call the newspaper (this was pre Twitter) and tell everyone how my own hospital tried to bill me for care my dead baby never received.
And that is how I became a patient advocate.

Oh hey @BernieSanders here’s another good one!
I was sent to collections for an x-ray one of my son’s had that never happened! The hospital billed my insurance twice for the same chest x-ray. My insurance rightly paid one and refused to pay for the 2nd one.

So as my insurance rightly declined to pay for the 2nd x-ray that never happened after months of arguing I was sent to collections. I sent a letter to the CEO (called and said I was a new doc on staff and needed his fax) explaining how I would take them to court for fraud

And the bill was pulled from collections.
I was send to collections for an x-ray that never happened. How fucked up is that?

I’d forgotten about those few seconds that felt like an eternity when I saw the letter addressed to “Parents of Aidan...”